Amen –

Stolen.
Ten days and all the eighteen months of it, gone
There’s nothing to believe in now
The devil sat with her
The Rottweiler bared her teeth in the living room
Instinct, gut, sense
I put my back against the wall, only when I released it, did he speak to me, stood behind me with too much familiarity
She gave him a car lift
The police were understanding
An image in my head, new smoking and golden drinking can’t kill it
I could kill his group of beloved
A mad Jessie James went to his house, to destroy something
Jesus was raised from the tomb for things like this
Amen.

This entry was posted in poetry & prose and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

