Brown bird – Unidentified beautiful brown bird in my garden, …

Unidentified beautiful brown bird in my garden, and ‘he’, ‘she’, ‘it’, I go with ‘he’, well, ‘he’ knows I’m here.
He’s keeping his two eyes on me, watching my intentions as I watch his movements, his hopping around my twelve by twelve muddy pile, it was a lawn before my wife left me
He’s dancing around dead clothes pegs, stepping in and out of my dog-dug divots, trying to find food on that brown-green mound
Looks like he’s staying here, staying put
He jumps, beats a way to a fence post, protecting his domain from a Crow’s Nest, now keeping a closer eye on intentions
We watch each other for a bit longer, distraction, he takes his eyes off me, and I shoot him dead with my rifle
I haven’t eaten for days, he’ll fill part of my gut, probably get stuck in my teeth, and I blame Darwin for this sad turn of events

This entry was posted in poetry & prose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

